Steven Appearing on WBAI This Sunday 1PM-2PM EDT (10AM-11AM PDT)

I am pleased to announce that I will be appearing with host and longtime colleague and friend Shelton Walden on his show "Walden's Pond" this Sunday, September 1, 2013 at 1PM EDT (10AM PDT), on WBAI, New York City's public radio station.  The show can be listened to live at www.wbai.org and will also be available as a downloadable podcast shortly following the show.

Shelton and I will be discussing several recent developments and upcoming events:

1) The 2012 German court case upholding a right to genital integrity and the subsequent legislation purporting to overturn the legal case, both of which I will be discussing at a mid-September conference (to be shortly announced in more detail) organized by Genital Autonomy at the University of Keele, UK.

2) The debate scheduled between me and American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) representative Michael Brady, M.D. at the twentieth annual Thomas A. Pitts Lectureship in Medical Ethics, a conference on "Ethical and Legal Issues in Pediatrics" taking place at the Medical University of South Carolina in Charleston on October 18-19.  The topic assigned by the organizers for the paper and talk, which are being prepared with the collaboration of ARC Legal Advisor Peter Adler and Robert S. Van Howe, M.D., is, "Newborn Male Circumcision is Unethical and Should be Illegal."

3) Brian Morris and colleagues have gone on the rampage again lately with a slew of articles attempting to attack intactivist scholars, which I believe evidence the increasingly beleaguered, embattled situation in which apologists for circumcision are finding themselves.

I appeared on Shelton's show a few times in the late 90's and early 2000's and once each in 2010 and 2011 so it will be a great pleasure to revisit "Walden's Pond."

Steven Svoboda
Attorneys for the Rights of the Child

Comments