AAP Task Force on Circumcision

The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) is set to release its new policy on circumcision later this year. According to a January 19, 2010 article in the "Washington Post", the AAP Task Force on Circumcision met outside Chicago the week before to begin finalizing its newest circumcision position.

Dr. Susan Blank, Chairman of the AAP Task Force, said this concerning the new position: "It could end up being anything from: It ought to be done on every male; on only some males; or only if the parents want it to be done. It could fall anywhere along the spectrum."
Washington Post article: "Debate on circumcision heightened as CDC evaluates surgery"

Blank makes no mention of the only acceptable choice regarding circumcision of male children. Physicians and parents must respect the human rights of all male children to their own bodily integrity and self-determination and say NO to circumcision. Members of the Task Force must be reminded that male and female children alike have a right to equal protection under the law. The new AAP policy must recognize and respect these basic human rights. Anything less is unacceptable.

Please contact the Task Force members listed below and insist that the right of male children to be protected from circumcision be honored by the AAP in its newest position statement.

AAP Task Force on Circumcision

Susan Blank, M.D.
AAP Task Force on Circumcision, Chairman
New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
125 Worth Street
New York, NY 10013
212-788-4406
sblank@health.nyc.gov

Errol Alden, M.D.
American Academy of Pediatrics
141 Northwest point Blvd.
Elk Grove, IL 60007
EAlden@aap.org

Jay E. Berkelhamer, M.D.
Children’s Health Care of Atlanta
1600 Tullie Circle
Atlanta, GA 30329
jay.berkelhamer@choa.org

Michael Brady, M.D.
Pediatric Academic Association
700 Children’s Drive
Columbus, OH 43205
michael.brady@nationwidechildrens.org

Douglas S. Diekema, M.D.
Department of Emergency Services
Children’s Hospital & Medical Center
4800 Sand Point Way NE
Seattle, WA 98105
diek@u.washington.edu

Andrew L. Freedman, M.D.
Pediatric Urologist
Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
8635 W. Third Street, Suite 1070
Los Angeles, CA 90048
andrew.freedman@cshs.org

Renee Jenkins, M.D.
Department of Pediatrics and Child Health
Howard University Hospital
2041 Georgia Avenue, NW, Room 6B02
Washington, DC 20060
rjenkins@aap.org

Judith S. Palfrey, M.D.
President-Elect, AAP
Children’s Hospital Boston
300 Longwood Avenue
Hunnewell 201.3
Boston, MA 02115
Email Contact Form at: www.childrenshospital.org/cfapps/research/data_admin/email.cfm?s=219&c=0&u=Judith%20Palfrey

Roger Suchyta, M.D.
Associate Executive Director
American Academy of Pediatrics
141 Northwest Point Blvd.
Elk Grove, IL 60007
rsuchyta@aap.org

David T. Tayloe, M.D.
Goldsboro Pediatrics
2706 Medical Office Place
Goldsboro, NC 27534
dtayloe@aap.org

Dan Walter, M.D.
Senior Policy Analyst
American Academy of Pediatrics
141 Northwest Point Blvd.
Elk Grove, IL 60007
dwalter@aap.org

Comments

Post new comment

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <h2><h3><p> <br> <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd><tr><td><th><hr><hn><sup><blockquote><u>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

Type the characters you see in this picture. (verify using audio)
Type the characters you see in the picture above; if you can't read them, submit the form and a new image will be generated. Not case sensitive.